State of Texas Alliance for Recycling
Home > Uncategorized > 2016 Environmental Leadership Award Winners Announced

We are thrilled to announce the winners and honorable mentions of the 2016 Environmental Leadership Awards, which will be presented and recognized during a special ceremony and dinner at our  Texas Recycling Summit in October. In efforts to recognize true stewards of environmental change in Texas from individuals, communities, organizations and businesses, these awards are a great way for us to work together, influence, and challenge one another to make an impact in recycling, composting, sustainable materials management, public education and outreach, and special event recycling.

And the winners are…

Linda B. Smith Memorial Award for Outstanding Environmental Youth Education and Outreach Program

Winner: Keep Sugar Land Beautiful Youth Advisory Board
Honorable Mention: Florence Hill Elementary School Green & Clean Team

Outstanding Recycling Special Event

Winner: City of Victoria
Honorable Mention: City of Allen

Cis Myers Sustainability Leadership Award

Winner: Closed Loop Recycling

Outstanding Environmental Public Education & Outreach Program

Winner: City of Grand Prairie

Outstanding Recycling Partnership

Winner: Travis County T-Shirts for Hunger
Honorable Mention: CTRA & West Central Texas Council of Governments

Rick Fuszek Memorial Award for Outstanding Sustainable Materials Management

Winner: Champions Waste & Recycling Services
Honorable Mention: Town of Little Elm

Outstanding Compost Program

Winner: City of Arlington Master Composters
Honorable Mention: Johnson Space Center Coffee-to-Compost

Volunteer of the Year Recognition

Winner: Joseph James, City of Allen

Thank you to everyone that participated and thank you to our judges:

  • Meredith Leahy, SERDC and Association of Plastics Recyclers
  • Adam Schlachter, Santa Fe Solid Waste Management Agency
  • David Hitchcock, The Woodlands GREEN
  • Jessica Wassenaar, EarthShare of Texas