Home > STAR > 2017 Texas Environmental Leadership Awards Winners

We are thrilled to announce the winners and honorable mentions of the 2017 Environmental Leadership Awards, which will be presented and recognized during a special ceremony and dinner at our  Texas Recycling Summit on October 24, in Austin, Texas. In efforts to recognize true stewards of environmental change in Texas from individuals, communities, organizations and businesses, these awards are a great way for us to work together, influence, and challenge one another to make an impact in recycling, composting, sustainable materials management, public education and outreach, and special event recycling.

And the winners are…

Linda B. Smith Memorial Award for Outstanding Environmental Youth Education and Outreach Program

Winner: City of Azle
Honorable Mention: City of Denton

Outstanding Recycling Special Event

Winner: City of Plano “Texas Recycles Day 2016”
Honorable Mention: Keep Sugar Land Beautiful

Cis Myers Sustainability Leadership Award

Winner: Fort Hood Recycle & Directorate of Public Works Environmental Division
Honorable Mention: Tyco Fire Protection Products

Outstanding Environmental Public Education & Outreach Program

Winner: City of San Marcos
Honorable Mention: Houston-Galveston Area Council

Outstanding Recycling Partnership

Winner: Balcones Recycling and the Container Store
Honorable Mention: City of South Padre Island EHSD

Rick Fuszek Memorial Award for Outstanding Sustainable Materials Management

Winner: City of Grand Prairie Solid Waste & Recycling
Honorable Mention: EcoLab, Inc.

Outstanding Compost Program

Winner: Cowboy Compost
Honorable Mention: City of Balch Springs

Volunteer of the Year Recognition

Judie Winchell, Fort Clark Springs
Mark Shallhorn, Keep Allen Beautiful

Larry Norris, Arlington Master Composters

Thank you to everyone that participated and thank you to our judges:

  • Laurie Johnson, Colorado Association for Recycling
  • Adam Schlachter, City of Santa Fe 
  • MarryEllen Etienne, Association of Ohio Recyclers and Reuse International
  • Mary McClellan, Carolina Recycling Association