State of Texas Alliance for Recycling
Home > Summit > 2018 Texas Environmental Leadership Awards

Texas Environmental Leadership Awards winners 2016

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Texas Environmental Leadership Awards!

Apply here!

The Texas Environmental Leadership Awards recognize true stewards of environmental change in Texas– individuals, communities, organizations, and businesses developing and maintaining programs involving recycling, composting, sustainable materials management, public education and outreach, special event recycling– and so much more! We have added some additional categories this year including Excellence in Construction & Demolition Debris Reuse/Recycling. Awards are a great way to get recognized for the hard work that you and your staff do every day to make Texas better!

Award winners are honored at a special ceremony and dinner  as part of the Texas Recycling Summit.

View the award descriptions and application here.

Congratulations to our 2017 winners!

Linda B. Smith Memorial Award for Outstanding Environmental Youth Education and Outreach Program

1st Place: City of Azle

Honorable Mention: City of Denton

Outstanding Recycling Special Event

1st Place: City of Plano Texas Recycles Day 2016

Honorable Mention: Keep Sugar Land Beautiful

Cis Myers Sustainability Leadership Award

1st Place: Fort Hood Recycle & Directorate of Public Works Environmental Division

Honorable Mention: Tyco Fire Protection Products

Outstanding Environmental Public Education and Outreach Program

1st Place: City of San Marcos

Honorable Mention: Houston-Galveston Area Council

Outstanding Recycling Partnership

1st Place: Balcones Recycling and the Container Store

Honorable Mention: City of South Padre Island EHSD

Rick Fuszek Memorial Award for Outstanding Sustainable Materials Management

1st Place: City of Grand Prairie Solid Waste & Recycling

Honorable Mention: EcoLab, Inc.

Outstanding Compost Program

1st Place: Cowboy Compost

Honorable Mention: City of Balch Springs

Volunteer of the Year Recognition

Judie Winchell, Fort Clark Springs

Mark Shallhorn, Keep Allen Beautiful

Larry Norris, Arlington Master Composters