State of Texas Alliance for Recycling
Home > Working Group > Business Council
Business Council
Topical Working Group
  • Topical Working Group

The STAR business council is a coalition of businesses and associations working to improve the marketability of Texas recyclable materials on behalf of the Texas economy and the environment.

Council members work collaboratively to:

  • educate policy makers and other stakeholders on the benefits of recycling for the Texas economy and environment, including jobs creation and carbon footprint benefits;
  • advocate for effective state policies and programs that strengthen materials recovery and recycling in Texas;
  • promote the development of sustainable recycling markets to consume Texas generated recyclables; and
  • promote use of best practices to improve the capture and marketability of materials recovered through Texas recycling programs

Meet our 2018-2019 Steering Committee:

  • Steve Shannon (Chair), Waste Connections, steve.shannon@wasteconnections.com
  • Andrew Kern (Vice Chair), Smurfit Kappa, Andrew.Kern@smurfitkappa.com
  • Walter Biel, Recon Services, walterbiel@hotmail.com
  • Scott Byrne, Tetra Pak, ScottA.Byrne@tetrapak.com
  • Betsy Dorn, RSE USA, bdorn@rse-usa.com
  • Tim Haugh, Evergreen Companies, tim.haugh@evergreen-recycling.com
  • Dexter Matthews, Liberty Tire, dmatthews@libertytire.com

If you are interested in joining the Business Council, please let the STAR office know.

Business council members at the first face-to-face meeting in Waco, July 2018.

Current Legislative Effort

Currently, the Business Council is spearheading two legislative measures, HB 286 and SB 649. HB 286 is authored by Rep. Thompson of Pearland and SB 649 is authored by Sen. Zaffirini of Laredo, co-authored by Sen. Rodriguez of El Paso.

The bills are seeking the state to fund an end-market development plan and a comprehensive educational campaign focused on reducing contamination and the economic benefits from recycling. The bills are to be funded out of either the GR 5000 or the 549 accounts which are specifically meant to fund projects such as studies, plans, and education about waste diversion and industry development.

HB 286 and SB 649 are holding the state accountable to spend the monies paid into funds by private and public entities to help support and grow Texas recycling businesses. Our bills have no components for increased state regulation, no increased industry oversight, nor any mandates that would constrain businesses. The bills simply ask for a plan to be developed which would provide backing and assurance to businesses focused on utilizing recycled feedstocks. The results will show that the state supports our industry, and here is how they can help businesses advance recycling in Texas.

Check out how the bills have progressed:

HB 286  SB 649


If you want to get involved, contact your Representative and Senator and ask them to support our bills! Don’t know who represents you? We made it simple to find out, click the button below!

WHO REPRESENTS ME?

Check out who some of our supporters are:

OUR SUPPORTERS