State of Texas Alliance for Recycling
Home > Working Group > Business Council
Business Council
Topical Working Group
  • Topical Working Group

The STAR Business Council is a coalition of businesses and associations working to improve the marketability of Texas recyclable materials on behalf of the Texas economy and the environment.

Council members work collaboratively to:

  • educate policy makers and other stakeholders on the benefits of recycling for the Texas economy and environment, including jobs creation and carbon footprint benefits;
  • advocate for effective state policies and programs that strengthen materials recovery and recycling in Texas;
  • promote the development of sustainable recycling markets to consume Texas generated recyclables; and
  • promote use of best practices to improve the capture and marketability of materials recovered through Texas recycling programs

Meet our 2018-2019 Steering Committee:

  • Steve Shannon (Chair), Waste Connections, steve.shannon@wasteconnections.com
  • Andrew Kern (Vice Chair), Smurfit Kappa, Andrew.Kern@smurfitkappa.com
  • Walter Biel, Recon Services, walterbiel@hotmail.com
  • Scott Byrne, Tetra Pak, ScottA.Byrne@tetrapak.com
  • Betsy Dorn, RSE USA, bdorn@rse-usa.com
  • Tim Haugh, Evergreen Companies, tim.haugh@evergreen-recycling.com
  • Dexter Matthews, Liberty Tire, dmatthews@libertytire.com

If you are interested in joining the Business Council, please let the STAR office know.

Business Council members at the first face-to-face meeting in Waco, July 2018.

Most Recent Legislative Effort

The Business Council spearheaded two legislative measures, HB 286 and SB 649. HB 286 was authored by Rep. Thompson of Pearland and SB 649 was authored by Sen. Zaffirini of Laredo, co-authored by Sen. Rodriguez of El Paso.

After many hours and days spent at the Capitol, we were successful in passing legislation on the first attempt! STAR’s SB 649 will become law effective September 1st, 2019!

SB 649 will have the state fund and create an end-market development plan and a comprehensive educational campaign focused on reducing contamination and the economic benefits from recycling. The bill is to be funded from the 549 account which is specifically meant to fund projects such as studies, plans, and education about waste diversion and industry development.

Check out how the bill progressed up to the passing and filing by the Governor:

SB 649

If you want to get involved in future legislative measures, contact your Representative and Senator and ask them to support bills that are important to you and to the recycling industry! Don’t know who represents you? We made it simple to find out, click the button below!

WHO REPRESENTS ME?

Check out who some of our supporters were for our SB 649 venture:

OUR SUPPORTERS